So I was told my last blog post was depressing, which I agree it was, but I refuse to retract any statement I made because it’s the truth and it’s how I feel and no one is paying me to keep this blog so I won’t be censored(BTW Drexel, we are still in a fight). The whole point of this blog is to tell you about my experiences and the world as I see it, and frankly, this month has been extremely stressful and something I would never want to do again(and I’m pretty sure I was on my way to developing an ulcer with all the stress and coffee I was drinking to stay awake). But it does not in any way overshadow all the positive things that I have experienced here.

I am sorry if I made anyone reconsider joining the program because this is one of the greatest experiences I have ever had(stress and all) and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The friends I have made, the traveling I have done, the knowledge I’ve gained about different cultures and about materials engineering(I had to throw that in there because I really did learn a lot in classes here), and the respect that I’ve gained for people who can speak more than one language fluently is irreplaceable and I think everyone should do it, especially Americans because we really don’t get out much.

Just don’t do what I did and take 30 credits both terms. You will not be able to do it. It is nearly impossible because of the time frame that you have. And if you want to do well at PoliMi, expect to take exams a couple of times and to study your butt off (and I mean literally because my butt really began to hurt after being permanently pasted in my desk chair for 3 weeks lol).

But all the same I figured I would let you know that my stress level has gone down significantly after this week, mostly because I am so tired that  just don’t care anymore. Also, last night I went to aperitivo with a bunch of friends as a going away thing and had a bunch of fun. After a sex on the beach(it’s a drink, I swear!), some awesome(free) appetizers and good company I was feeling pretty good. Plus I got to have sushi for lunch (in AIR CONDIITONING!) with my friend Liliana, which was really nice not only to see my friend but also because it was super hot yesterday(over 90 degrees). Also, I am super excited to go to Spain on Monday:) I have just about finished packing and my room looks really empty and kind of sad. I am not really nostalgic about leaving Milan, mostly because I will be back here to take more exams and present my thesis in a couple of months haha. Anyways, I think it may be nap time(or gelato time) at Alyssa’s place so I will update when I get to Spain and get settled in.

xoxo,

Alyssa

