I am so excited right now because I just found out that I am a 2012 NSF fellowship winner! For those of you who don’t know, it is a very prestigious graduate fellowship awarded to students in the STEM(Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields. This means that I can actually afford to continue on and get my Ph.D at Drexel:) I almost had a heart attack when reading the notification e-mail because I was sure that I didn’t get it. I applied last year and thought that my application was good, but didn’t receive the award and it definitely took a couple minutes after I read the “Congratulations! I am pleased to inform you that you have been selected to receive a 2012 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship.” to sink in that I actually won.

It really stinks that there is a time difference because I really want to tell everyone the good news and am feeling super hyperactive right now. I have no idea how I am going to settle down and focus in afternoon classes, but I probably will because but both of them are actually super interesting. But I figured I would update you all at once about my good news and I will be on Skype tomorrow for my weekly chat with my parents and Paul. But if you want to call, I will be online most of the day tomorrow:)
xoxo,
Alyssa

P.S. It is the perfect day here: 77 degrees and sunny with a slight breeze 😉

