Ciao,
So I am settling back into the routine of classes and to welcome all the Materials Engineering Masters students back to reality, there is a math test this Thursday. I can’t say I am completely ready for it yet, but I am on my way there. This is much less stressful then the chemistry exam because 1) I actually like math, 2) the class is more straight forward, 3) there are still two more chances this term and one more chance next term for me to pass this exam. In one sense I love the Italian system because you get more than one chance to pass the test, but in another way I hate that one exam determines your entire grade.

I am also back to the reality of being in a country where no one speaks English as I found when I went to the grocery store and there was a sign on one of the self check out machines that I couldn’t read. But luckily I knew how to ask if the machine was working or not and the worker explained that the scanner wasnt working and to use the handheld scanner. So my Italian is definitely improving because I can understand a lot of what people are saying if they don’t speak too quickly, but I still have some trouble speaking. Mostly because I forget the conjugation of verbs lol.

The laundry machines are not working in my building so I had to hand wash my clothes this weekend. But my friend Chala said that half of the machines were working as of yesterday so I may try and do laundry in the basement of doom tomorrow. I am going to go get my residence permit(hopefully) on Friday. When I was coming back from the UK I was asked to present it but I just said that I was still waiting for it to be printed so they let me go, but I don’t know if I’ll get away with that again, so even though they haven’t contacted me I will bring my receipt and try to pick it up on Friday. I will let you know how it goes.I also really need a hair cut and totally forgot to do it while in the UK so I am going to try my luck at an Italian salon hopefully Friday as well. I may just have to bring an Italian friend or someone with the iPhone translation app to come with me or I may end up with a pixie cut or something lol. So cross your fingers and wish me luck if I have time to do that.

And now it is time for me to get back to studying.
xoxo,
Alyssa

