Because my birthday is conveniently located between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I always kind of forget about it. It’s not that I actually forget, it just seems like it comes up so quick after Thanksgiving and then is easily forgotten because Christmas is coming, which I am infinitely more excited about. It’s not that I don’t like my birthday, I just don’t care as much. I used to love celebrating my birthday with mom’s side of the family, especially the year with the Cinderella cake, which remains to this day, my favorite cake, even though the rum cake from the Swiss Bakery in Philly(purchased by Caitlin) is a close second. But for some reason, I always seem to wake up on December 6th and forget I am one year older until someone reminds me. Plus for the past three years I have had finals during my birthday, so it kind of gets swept under the rug.

But this year I will be spending my birthday in Florence:) Well not actually my birthday, but the day after my birthday through Friday. Since Milan has a holiday next week, we get the 6-9 off, so my friends Liliana and I are going to stay in Florence for a few days and do some sightseeing and hopefully see some stuff I didn’t get to when I was in Florence before. Since we really only had one day to explore Florence on the Tuscany trip, I hope to see some more tourist sites and maybe do some shopping(possibly some Christmas shopping). But I am super excited and will definitely not forget about my birthday this year:)
xoxo,
Alyssa

P.S. I don’t know if I mentioned it before, but I love my residence because they come and clean the bathroom every day and clean my floor every other week. I came home today and my floor was shiny and my room smelled like lemons so it put me in an even better mood than I was before when I decided to spend my birthday in Florence. Rule #1 for EAGLES students: Get into the Casa Dello Studente residence.

